|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Undercover Genius
Super #1
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Tampa, FL
Hosted on Vanilla
2,997 posts
Gave thanks: 27
Thanked 37 times
|
I get junkmail from them allllllllllll the time... they suck... killing trees for SPAM! Ugh!
__________________
When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us. - Helen Keller |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Sur, pass the salt
Excelling Contributor
Joined in Sep 2005
Lives in kayla's dvd-rw tray
Hosted on Pass44
787 posts
Gave thanks: 44
Thanked 52 times
|
Yup, one of several companies that try to get you to switch your domains to them by making their form look vaguely like a renewal. Not only is this highly unethical but these companies' prices are always bad, too... Luckily, Surpassers are way too smart to fall for this!
![]()
__________________
Benjamin ![]() Server: Pass44 |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Race Surpass
Super #1
Joined in Jul 2006
Lives in Oklahoma City, OK
Hosted on sh102
1,219 posts
Gave thanks: 18
Thanked 86 times
|
I used to get those from some company several years ago but they kinda stopped.. maybe cause I renewed some of my domains for 3 years and had private registration with Network Solutions.. but my markrh.com is with GoDaddy and not private.. I just always thought it was silly to use some middle-man to renew my domains and always tossed them away.
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Super #1
Joined in Nov 2003
Lives in New Hampshire
1,227 posts
Gave thanks: 3
Thanked 25 times
|
I don't see what the big scuttle is with just putting fake info into the whois?
I know that breaks some agreement, but is there any verification or recourse? I just make sure the admin email is right, and I'm ghost like Swayze |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Searcher
Surpass Staff
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Orlando
24,699 posts
Gave thanks: 943
Thanked 806 times
|
RIGHT! We aren't allowed to put fake info into whois, but companies like this are allowed to use our correct info to spam us?
__________________
Follow Surpass on Twitter and Facebook
Check out interesting finds on the Surpass Blog .... it's coming. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
URB4N 5K1LLZ
Super #1
Joined in Sep 2005
Lives in Orlando, FL
Hosted on SH63
2,656 posts
Gave thanks: 81
Thanked 128 times
|
Its horrible madness I say! I used to get search engine (or something of the like) junk spam mail from companies...At first when you look at the paper, it seems like you have a bill to pay and then you think, "what? Why do I have to pay this company, this much?" but then you keep reading to the bottom and its "IF you pay this bill now, your site will get listed on over 100 search engines and websites and blah blah blah". I was surprised at first that they knew contact info and domain name, but now I see why.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | |
|
Surpass Abuse Admin
Super #1
Joined in Mar 2005
Lives in Houston, TX
Hosted on NONE
7,794 posts
Gave thanks: 10
Thanked 277 times
|
Quote:
This "spam" sucks but it really doesn't bother me. It usually comes with a prepaid envelope which is to be used to return the filled out form for your domain order. I usually just take everything they sent me, and send it back to the in their own envelope.
__________________
Unofficial IRC Channel: #surpass EFNetUnofficial = No official support. Support requests can be submitted to our helpdesk. |
|
|
|
|