icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.
Old August 8th, 2005, 10:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Steve.H's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2004
Lives in BraSil
61 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
HotLinkin / .htaccess ISSUE.

Hi All!

I'm trying to "prevent hotlinking" to my website wich is: http://imeex.com.br

I'm trying to use the HOTLINKING PROTECTION from CPANEL's, and I can only BLOCK "images" (.jpg, gifs), but my pages are still loading.

I want to BLOCK EVERYTHING, not only the images, but the .html files as well.

Actually i have this code on my .htacces file:

Code:
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://br.imeex.com.br/.*$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://br.imeex.com.br$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://en.imeex.com.br/.*$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://en.imeex.com.br$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://imeex.com.br/.*$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://imeex.com.br$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.br.imeex.com.br/.*$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.br.imeex.com.br$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.en.imeex.com.br/.*$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.en.imeex.com.br$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.imeex.com.br/.*$      [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.imeex.com.br$      [NC]
RewriteRule .*\.(jpg|jpeg|gif|png|bmp|swf)$ http://www.google.com.br[R,NC]
With this code, people are able to check/view my website pages, but can't see any images, besides the background. But they ARE NOT beeing redirected to GOOGLE's Site.

On this last line:
Code:
RewriteRule .*\.(jpg|jpeg|gif|png|bmp|swf)$ http://www.google.com.br[R,NC]
When I add, htm|htm|php I can make not only the "leechers" become redirected to GOOGLE, but all my "legite" visitor as well.

-----------------------------------------------------

What i want to know, if there's a SAFE way, to block EVERYTHING from my website, beeing showed/loaded from WEBSITES that I don't to.

Because today what happens is:
- I block all IMAGES, but they can still access/view my site.
- I BLOCK everything, including my "legit" visitor, wich is not good.


Today I've found that these 3 sites are all "redirecting to my site":

http://trailertentsinwales.co.uk/
http://obiaccessorycentre.co.uk/
http://tentsinwales.co.uk/

-------------------------------
__________________
There are 10 kind of people in this world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.


Server: Serenity x.x.40.51
Dog: a 'bad ass' Bull Terrier
Steve.H is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
is scientific.
Resident.
 
David's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2004
Lives in fear of Obama.
Hosted on Pass 7
13,111 posts
Gave thanks: 8
Thanked 34 times
as someone else mentioned in your other thread, it looks more like they just copied the page and the image. why they did it makes no sense, unless they are for some reason just trying to advertise you. they aren't hotlinking them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by removed View Post
Internet Explorer rules.
David is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
is scientific.
Resident.
 
David's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2004
Lives in fear of Obama.
Hosted on Pass 7
13,111 posts
Gave thanks: 8
Thanked 34 times
hmm...maybe they were. this whole situation seems very bizzare, especially since the pages look like they are pulling the images from their own site. check in cpanel and make sure those domains aren't parked on your site.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by removed View Post
Internet Explorer rules.
David is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 1:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Steve.H's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2004
Lives in BraSil
61 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Hi David!

Yes, I've read on my other post about: "looks like they have coppied my files into their website"...

But, as you saw, when I've activated the HOTLINK, they can't load all the images.
But "weirdly" can still load BackGround images.

Anyway, I've followed your tip and checked my PARKED DOMAINS at Cpanel, but nothing was found there.

Grrr... this is getting on my nerves...

I could take it as "free adverteise"... but can you imagine if they Domain were:
www.somethingAGRESSIVE.com ?

Thanks for your reply.
__________________
There are 10 kind of people in this world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.


Server: Serenity x.x.40.51
Dog: a 'bad ass' Bull Terrier
Steve.H is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On