icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.
Old January 24th, 2004, 4:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
andrewm57's Avatar
 
Joined in Nov 2003
Lives in Kitsap Peninsula, WA
Hosted on Pass2
71 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Quote:
Originally posted by Surpass JackJan 24 2004, 2.39 pm
are you setting it up as a phpmail (sendmail) or SMTP? if you have set as SMTP you can not do that. you have to use phpmail (sendmail)
I have set it back to not use SMTP in the config panel.

#$%^& I think I just figured it out... maybe.

I signed up using a new email addr on one of my Pass2 domains, worked fine. This leaves 2 possibilities, one unlikely.

1) sendmail can't get outside of Pass2, or Surpass, etc. This would be weird.
2) the domain I was using for test accounts is blacklisting Pass2.

I just changed the test account email from the Pass2 domain to my original, never received the change. Couldn't private msg, mass email anything. Switched back to the Pass2 email addr, all hunky-dory.

Admin, is there any way to see if 66.152.64.15 is blocking Pass2? That host is using SpamAssassin, but it's configured to munge the header with spam ratings, not block, AFAIK; they may also use RBL or whatever.
__________________
Andrew MacMillen
HawkFeather Web Design
http://www.hawkfeather.com/
'hawkfea' Pass2
--------------------
...something witty here....
andrewm57 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old January 24th, 2004, 7:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
andrewm57's Avatar
 
Joined in Nov 2003
Lives in Kitsap Peninsula, WA
Hosted on Pass2
71 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Thumbs down

I've confirmed that there is a blacklist problem. I've never received any of the emails I sent to the host IP spec'd above nor bounces, 2 other test users have said they received the registration email filtered as spam or bulk, and I just got a bounce from another users registration email, pasted below.

[snip]
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

xxxxxxmidsouth.rr.com
SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL FROM:<postmastermacrockets.com>:
host ohmx03.mgw.rr.com [65.24.0.112]: 550 5.7.1 Mail Refused - 66.193.231 - See http://security.rr.com/mail_blocks.htm#security - 20040114

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: <postmastermacrockets.com>
Received: from nobody by pass2.dizinc.com with local (Exim 4.24)
id 1AkVzM-0000c0-6C
for [email snipped]; Sat, 24 Jan 2004 17:10:48 -0500
To: [email snipped]
Subject: Welcome to Hybrid Rockets Forums
Reply-to: postmastermacrockets.com
From: postmastermacrockets.com
Message-ID: <3d62421d3ae704e39f7dc9cc4563877dhybrids.macrocke ts.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
Content-transfer-encoding: 8bit
Date: Sat, 24 Jan 2004 17:10:48 -0500
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: PHP
X-MimeOLE: Produced By phpBB2


Welcome to Hybrid Rockets Forums

Please keep this email for your records. Your account information is as follows:
[/snip]

Please let me know any developments about getting pass2.dizinc.com de-listed.
__________________
Andrew MacMillen
HawkFeather Web Design
http://www.hawkfeather.com/
'hawkfea' Pass2
--------------------
...something witty here....
andrewm57 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old January 24th, 2004, 8:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
the one who was
Super #1
 
patrickb's Avatar
 
Joined in Jul 2003
Lives in Memphis
1,967 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 3 times
Hey, that was me!

Yeah, I checked up on it, and I can't find any listings saying the server IP is banned. From the TimeWarner bounce I noticed in the logs, it seems the whole range 66.193.231.x has been banned. I will get someone working on it now..
__________________
Patrick

Warnings: The program(s) might crash unexpectedly or behave otherwise strangely. (But of course, so do many commercial programs on Windows.) --www.gimp.org
patrickb is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old January 24th, 2004, 8:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
andrewm57's Avatar
 
Joined in Nov 2003
Lives in Kitsap Peninsula, WA
Hosted on Pass2
71 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Well, I manually activated you B)

I think it's a whole lot bigger than RoadRunner, the user who had it marked as spam was on yahoo.com, and the one marked bulk was on hotmail.com

Thanx for the quick notification, and keep on keepin' on... plz!
__________________
Andrew MacMillen
HawkFeather Web Design
http://www.hawkfeather.com/
'hawkfea' Pass2
--------------------
...something witty here....
andrewm57 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On