icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Domain Names and DNS » Someone used my contact info...?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old October 13th, 2004, 6:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Skittles
Super #1
 
DewKnight's Avatar
 
Joined in Aug 2004
Lives in a space ship
Hosted on dedi
6,810 posts
Gave thanks: 101
Thanked 198 times
possibly could be one of those companies that were giving 10 free .info domains with a regular domain registration though...
__________________
Mountain Dew Knight
People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.
DewKnight is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2004, 7:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Rai
Senior Member
Super #1
 
Rai's Avatar
 
Joined in Nov 2003
Lives in Canada
Hosted on Pass14
3,770 posts
Gave thanks: 4
Thanked 20 times
What I don't understand though... Don't you usually get an email confirmation when you register for a domain? So if the guy used your email...

*shrugs* I guess he could have changed it afterwards...?
__________________
Rai is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2004, 7:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
Comfy Contributor
 
Einstein's Avatar
 
Joined in May 2004
Lives in Finland
Hosted on Centi
281 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Could be someone that want to give you the domain as present
__________________

The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources. - Alber Einstein
Centi: ykkosrasti.net
My sites on Pass38, reseller: kimslotte.net|mtb-o.net|perhekuvat.net|nettikuvat.net|tiedostotila.net
About me
Einstein is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2004, 7:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Surpass Fan
On a golden path...
 
Joined in Nov 2003
432 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Some registrars were registering .info domains in the name of (using the contact etc. info of the .com owner) the .com or .net owner, during some sort of free .info registration period. I've heard that some of these registrars are assigning these .info's to the customers account. In my case, I've had several registered with my information through two different registrars, but none have showed up in my account at this point. Of course I could request a domain transfer and pay the cost, but I'm going to wait and see what my registrars end up doing, unless the domains start resolving to a site, then I'll request a transfer immediately.
fwwebs5 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 9:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
says LEAVE BRITNEY ALONE!
Resident.
 
David's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2004
Lives in fear of Obama.
Hosted on Pass 7
13,085 posts
Gave thanks: 8
Thanked 33 times
You have got to be kidding me....

I own quintina.com, .net, and .org....but what the hell?!

http://www.whois.sc/quintina.info
__________________
David is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 11:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
says LEAVE BRITNEY ALONE!
Resident.
 
David's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2004
Lives in fear of Obama.
Hosted on Pass 7
13,085 posts
Gave thanks: 8
Thanked 33 times
ok...after reading a thread in webhostingtalk, I have found out some intresting info about .info domains:

This isn't SOMEONE doing this. This is apparently eNom doing this. They are doing some stupid promotion where they are registering the .info version of every .com domain they currently have. This must extend to .net also because I ran across someone with a .net version of my .com, who had their information copied to the .info version of our site...in other words

me: ncunderground.com
him: ncunderground.net
enom: ncungerground.info

But anyway, this is apparently some promotion they are doing in which they are registering them free for you...but you have to pay them to get them if you want them. This sounds like crap to me, because this means that if you want that domain name under a different place, you'll have to now pay a transfer fee as well because they bought it out from under you first and have no plans of doing anything with it other than forcing you to use them in order to have it.

More info on the situation: http://news.netcraft.com/archives/20...ntroversy.html
__________________
David is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 12:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
Comfy Contributor
 
Einstein's Avatar
 
Joined in May 2004
Lives in Finland
Hosted on Centi
281 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
It will be intresting what happens next.
__________________

The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources. - Alber Einstein
Centi: ykkosrasti.net
My sites on Pass38, reseller: kimslotte.net|mtb-o.net|perhekuvat.net|nettikuvat.net|tiedostotila.net
About me
Einstein is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On