icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Email » AOL stillblocking Surpass servers.

Email General questions, webmail, mailing lists.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old November 27th, 2004, 1:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Wiggle's Avatar
 
Joined in Apr 2004
Lives in on a lake
28 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Unhappy AOL stillblocking Surpass servers.

Dear Anyone-willing-to-listen,

I posted to this problem about four weeks ago...
but it continues to be a problem.
I can recieve e-mail from AOL clients, but I cannot reply to them or send them a whole new e-mail either.

I get an error message stateing in a nutshell that AOL thinks there is spam coming from the Surpass servers and has blocked the entire server.

This is a problem because I run e-mail through four different Surpass servers... and you guessed it, they are all blocked.

Not that this is Surpasses fault, in fact I am sure that the blame rests squarely with the mighty AOL.

In fact I opened a not desired account with YAHOO just so I could send mail to AOL clients. Guess what? yep, that is blocked too.

I waited through the AOL postmaster's phone que tonight for 25 minutes only to be tranfered by the postmaster to "upper level administration" via click.... opps sorry we disconected you.

Well... feeling rather RANDie, I waited through the que for another 25 minutes so I could vent on the poor slob named Bill that got lucky enough to pick up my call.

To make a long story short, I was unable to get my e-mail addresses "whitelisted" as they have blocked the server in whole. I asked Bill as to what he might suggest... short of signing up for AOL. He really had no answers. He did suggest that the administrators from Surpass should contact the postmaster[at]aol.com and perhaps patch things up with them.

I am in a predicament as I have over 75 clients who use AOL and I can recieve from them but alas, cannot send them mail.(actually I can send it, it just dont get there)

Here is a copy of the jibberish the "postmaster [at] AOL" forwarded to my inbox...

Thank you for contacting the AOL Postmaster Helpdesk. This email should help you find a solution to your email delivery problem.

AOL will not accept SMTP connections from IP addresses which have no reverse-DNS (PTR record) assigned.

You can check and learn more about your reverse DNS on the AOL Postmaster Web Site:
http://postmaster.aol.com/info/rdns.html

Please setup a reverse DNS entry for any IP addresses that are having a delivery issue. Once reverse DNS is setup, the block on those IP addresses should be removed within 48 to 72 hours. If it has been more than 72 hours since reverse DNS was set up on your IP address, please feel free to contact the Postmaster Helpdesk at 1-888-212-5537 for further troubleshooting.

If you are experiencing an email delivery problem due to a reverse DNS issue, we apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, it is difficult for AOL to identify the sending mail server when the connecting IP does not have reverse DNS.

Should you have any questions, please contact our Postmaster Helpdesk.

Thank you for your time and patience.

Postmaster Group

America Online, Inc.

1-888-212-5537


If any of the great tec s at Surpass can help me I would welome your assistance.

Please... Please... Please

These are my Surpass IP addresses, can someone tell me what servers I am on for future reference?

66.193.17.60

66.195.16.208

66.194.152.197

66.194.238.158


I know that one of them is Farciert...
63.224.2.124 ??? is this the server IP??

Any tips on short term solutions to the AOL mail problem would be welcomed as well.

Thanks all......... C. M. Wiggle

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]"Give me the courage to change the things that I have absolutely no control over" - cmwiggle.com - PASS 37
Wiggle is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2004, 2:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
homiebrah's Avatar
 
Joined in Jun 2003
Lives in Elmendorf AFB, AK
Hosted on Quela
45 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
I've had a ticket opened for several weeks. No updates when requested.
__________________
Server: Quela
Site: HeathersCorner.com
homiebrah is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2004, 9:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
sam
Surpass Fan
Super #1
 
sam's Avatar
 
Joined in Dec 2003
Lives in NJ
5,057 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 4 times
the issue with AOL has some history and context. look around the net, you'll see it's not just surpass that has issues with mail to AOL.

The last of blacklist blocks was cleared up earlier this week, AOL being the exception. they really do things a bit differently.

have faith, this is being worked on.
sam is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2005, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in Oct 2004
Lives in chicago
Hosted on I dont know?
5 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Unhappy It seems to be happening again -

Sorry for posting this twice, but I just found this previous post about the same problem.

Since yesterday, I am getting this error message from AOL when I try to send email to someone I have been sending email to with no problems for years.

It is not spam. Just personal email to a friend.



__________________________

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

------aol.com
SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:
host mailin-03.mx.aol.com [64.12.137.249]: 554- (RTR:SC) http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554rtrsc.html
554- AOL does not accept e-mail transactions from IP addresses which
554- generate complaints or transmit unsolicited bulk e-mail.
554 Connecting IP: 72.29.76.59
cbacci is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On