icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Email » Any Email Im Trying To Send Is Coming Back Like Th

Email General questions, webmail, mailing lists.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old October 18th, 2003, 6:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in May 2003
8 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
ANY EMAIL I TRY TO SEND IS COMING BACK LIKE THIS...

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

Marblsnetaol.com
SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:
host mailin-03.mx.aol.com [64.12.137.152]: 554-(RLY:B1) The information presently available to AOL indicates this
554-server is generating high volumes of member complaints from AOL's
554-member base. Based on AOL's Unsolicited Bulk E-mail policy at
554-http://www.aol.com/info/bulkemail.html AOL may not accept further
554-e-mail transactions from this server or domain. For more information,
554 please visit http://postmaster.info.aol.com.


WHY? Im not sending any bulk or junk email....
speedcomputing is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old October 18th, 2003, 7:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
the one who was
Super #1
 
patrickb's Avatar
 
Joined in Jul 2003
Lives in Memphis
1,967 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 3 times
Please forward this to supportsurpasshosting.com. They will need to look into this to find out why this is happening. AOL causes these kind of problems all the time. They tend to ban a lot of IPs randomly...
__________________
Patrick

Warnings: The program(s) might crash unexpectedly or behave otherwise strangely. (But of course, so do many commercial programs on Windows.) --www.gimp.org
patrickb is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old October 19th, 2003, 3:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in Sep 2003
36 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
This is happening to me as well (plainmabel.com, on Pixel server) -- both with AOL and other email clients with spam filtering turned on. Even when I am replying to someone's email, I often get a bounceback telling me that I am spam!
__________________
Plain Mabel > Extraordinary gifts and accessories
Pixel server
plainmabel is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old October 20th, 2003, 5:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
the one who was
Super #1
 
patrickb's Avatar
 
Joined in Jul 2003
Lives in Memphis
1,967 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 3 times
Spam filtering is a pain in the :cen:. Depending on what level the filtering is occuring (ie: the mail server or the end user) the resulting solution is different. If you have specific examples, maybe I can offer a better suggestion.
__________________
Patrick

Warnings: The program(s) might crash unexpectedly or behave otherwise strangely. (But of course, so do many commercial programs on Windows.) --www.gimp.org
patrickb is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old October 20th, 2003, 9:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Virginia
39 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Is it just coming from AOL accounts? There are some providers that reject emails that aren't on the user's "registered" list.
net1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old October 20th, 2003, 7:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in Sep 2003
36 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
It just started for me recently with AOL -- when replying to the same AOL person I email several times a day. But it's also happened with other ISPs seemingly all of a sudden.

This is the header I get from AOL:
SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:
host mailin-01.mx.aol.com [205.188.156.122]: 554-(RLY:B1) The information presently available to AOL indicates this
554-server is generating high volumes of member complaints from AOL's
554-member base. Based on AOL's Unsolicited Bulk E-mail policy at
554-http://www.aol.com/info/bulkemail.html AOL may not accept further
554-e-mail transactions from this server or domain. For more information,
554 please visit http://postmaster.info.aol.com.

(Edited to add: just realized this header is the same as the one from the initial poster...sorry!)
__________________
Plain Mabel > Extraordinary gifts and accessories
Pixel server
plainmabel is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old October 21st, 2003, 3:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in Aug 2003
Lives in Fredericksburg, VA USA
Hosted on Quela
4 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Maybe the answer here isn't trying to get AOL to relax their "Black Listing" standards.....Maybe the answer is getting EVERYONE else to drop AOL as their ISP.

I used to think that Microsoft was the worst when it came to forcing everyone to conform to their rules.....Then I joined AOL. That was the worst 2 months of my surfing life.

Anyway, just a little humor to liven your day......Later

Steve
stevelar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old October 21st, 2003, 3:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
the one who was
Super #1
 
patrickb's Avatar
 
Joined in Jul 2003
Lives in Memphis
1,967 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 3 times
Quote:
Maybe the answer here isn't trying to get AOL to relax their "Black Listing" standards.....Maybe the answer is getting EVERYONE else to drop AOL as their ISP.
How are we going to convince the clueless masses that AOL is not the only provider in the world, and that AOL sucks when they have that new advertising campaign about the animated Icons?!?!?!
B)
__________________
Patrick

Warnings: The program(s) might crash unexpectedly or behave otherwise strangely. (But of course, so do many commercial programs on Windows.) --www.gimp.org
patrickb is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On