icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Email » Getting LOTS of spam; help!

Email General questions, webmail, mailing lists.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old October 7th, 2005, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Atlanta, GA
69 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Exclamation Getting LOTS of spam; help!

We have been getting a LOT of email spam...
problem is, it is stating that it came from us (webmasterrubyforest.com)
it is obvious a spam bot that is using a mail server to pretend like us.
What's worse is it is doing this every night, and every email has a virus as an attachment.

I am trying to figure out where/how it is being done.

Could someone help by breaking apart the headers quoted below?

Tell me what is the mail server it is using (rubyforest.com or rubyforest.net?) and HOW it is doing it. I originally thought it was through our webform, but it does not seem to be that way. How can I find out the source of how/where they are sending these mass emails from? I need to stop it, very soon. Thanks for any help.

-Taka

Quote:
Return-path: <webmasterrubyforest.com>
Received: from [68.19.46.172] (helo=rubyforest.com
)
by dime.dizinc.com with esmtp (Exim 4.52)
id 1ENgza-0003vv-Aa
for jerryrubyforest.com; Thu, 06 Oct 2005 21:25:48 -0400
From:
webmasterrubyforest.com
To: jerryrubyforest.com
Subject: Important Notification
Date: Thu, 6 Oct 2005 21:25:52 -0400
MIME-Version:
1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0003_C10E9242.3D8D2F6F"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
__________________
Server:
simplemedia.com
XX.XX.74.115 (Reseller)
DNS:
ns770.dizinc.com
ns771.dizinc.com
Sites:
www.simplemedia.com
www.southernbloom.com
www.torimoto.net
www.rubyforest.net
takabanana is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2005, 4:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Insanely
Super #1
 
Skipdawg's Avatar
 
Joined in Jul 2005
Lives in Northwest USA
4,154 posts
Gave thanks: 39
Thanked 78 times
Well the IP there 68.19.46.172 is in the BellSouth block of IP's

So for starters do you have copies of these spoofed emails? If so forward them to abuse[at]bellsouth.net and let them know what is going on. they will know more about the header stuff too.
__________________
Skipdawg is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2005, 7:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Comfy Contributor
 
schupp's Avatar
 
Joined in Oct 2004
Lives in Reykjavík/Toronto
Hosted on Pass16/18
168 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Isn't that a common practice of spammers to take a return name that matches the destination? The spam machine does this automaticaly. I would be more worried if the destination was a different domain and they pretended to be from me. Even worse if they still used my server to send them. But that is much harder to do.

A few things to do:
. Never have a a default destination in your mail control. Blackhole any mail that doesn't match a real name.
. Change all common names. i.e. "jerry" is going to be hit with the dictionary attack spams. PITA to do if a user has a lot of legit mail. But an alias placed online for a period of time until senders get used to the new address is a way to ween off the old.
__________________
Pass16
Pass39
schupp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2005, 8:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Comfy Contributor
 
schupp's Avatar
 
Joined in Oct 2004
Lives in Reykjavík/Toronto
Hosted on Pass16/18
168 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Speaking of spam. I get very little spam but moments after I posted this I got one and it was addressed to an address alias that I use for Surpass. Somewhere they are getting the address and that is a bad sign. No worries yet, this is the 1st one and when it gets bad I simply dump that alias and create a new one.

Point is I know where the spammer got the address and is easily corrected.
__________________
Pass16
Pass39
schupp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2005, 2:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Surpass Fan
Comfy Contributor
 
wap3's Avatar
 
Joined in Apr 2004
Lives in South Texas USA
Hosted on ChopChop
183 posts
Gave thanks: 10
Thanked 7 times
One way I stopped a lot of that crap is to go into CPanel>Mail>Email Filtering
add "helo=yourdomain" and also "ehlo=yourdomain"
replacing your domain in this case with rubyforest.com and no quotes
YMMV - I work behind Mercury32 [www.pmail.com] Mail Server locally so there is absolutely no way I can send mail to myself via "mydomain.com", so if you direct connect this might be an issue

Also do helo/ehlo for know IPs you have no business with.
example - helo=211. [this is country and our office is a u.s. gov]
but be carefull of this [using 68.19. from above] as you will kill off a big chunk of BellSouth.

Just my $0.0175
__________________
--wap3

If we removed all of the "Oxygen Thiefs" [tm] from politics, maybe the earth would not have a Greenhouse Gas problem.

wap3.com on ChopChop
wap3 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On