icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Email » I am spam?

Email General questions, webmail, mailing lists.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old August 31st, 2004, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in Jul 2004
Hosted on Spiffy
33 posts
Gave thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times
I am spam?

Suddenly, a lot of recipients have rejected my email as spam. These are not random people - these are email accounts of friends and family. Why is this? Is this something that Surpass has done by letting spammers use their servers? Can I be moved to a server that doesn't have spammers on it?

Here is the message I am receiving back

Code:
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at spameater01.dimenocmail.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<EMAIL_ADDRESS_REMOVED>:
Connected to IP.ADDRESS.REMOVED but sender was rejected.
Remote host said: 550 spam access denied; ip 66.195.127.55; see bl.spamcop.net
zmahshie is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Marketing Maven
Surpass Staff
 
Kayla's Avatar
 
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Chicago
24,754 posts
Gave thanks: 946
Thanked 807 times
Hi,

We do not allow spammers. Sometimes spam systems list our IPs rather than tell us of the offenders so that we can delete the sites. Sometimes one will slip through no matter the extreme care we take to prevent it. Then we have to wait a week or so for them to remove the block. Please send an email to abuse[at]surpasshosting.com about this. I am sure they already are aware and have notified the proper people, but please send the email at any rate.
Kayla is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 11:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hostering?
Excelling Contributor
 
mobius's Avatar
 
Joined in Jan 2004
Lives in New York
Hosted on D41
970 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Darn, you beat me to it Kayla. I hit the reply button and yours showed up!
__________________
{_DIME.41 Reseller_}

Stay cool.

>> Avatar used with permission from garyzullo.com <<
mobius is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in Jul 2004
Hosted on Spiffy
33 posts
Gave thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times
Thank you (both) for the quick response! I will send them an email just to make sure.
zmahshie is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2004, 8:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
minor deity
Super #1
 
Bigjohn's Avatar
 
Joined in Apr 2004
Lives in Georgia
Hosted on XEON
7,395 posts
Gave thanks: 28
Thanked 94 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmahshie
Thank you (both) for the quick response! I will send them an email just to make sure.
open a support ticket on this, and Surpass will start/continue the process of having the server de-listed.
__________________
Proud to be a Surmunity Mod!
XEON PASS60 PASS61
Make a fundamental difference!
My Sites:
Curious about Brewing Beer? Join the community!
>>>>> Some Change is GOOD! Keep your paycheck! Support the Fair Tax
Get into an Art museum
Victorian London
It's your brain -ON WEB - mybrainhost.com (under development)
What SHOULD Government do? Much Less than it Does!
Bigjohn is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2004, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in Jul 2004
Hosted on Spiffy
33 posts
Gave thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times
abuse[at]surpasshosting.com doesn't work. I got the following auto-reply, which links to a website that doesn't exist.

Code:
From: donotreply-abuse[at]surpasshosting.com [mailto:abuse[at]surpasshosting.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, August 31, 2004 10:53 PM
To: Zak Mahshie
Subject: Please use DimeNoc.com

Please use DimeNoc.com to file abuse complaints. All email sent to 
abuse[at]surpasshosting.com will not be read. Please update your 
records. Thank you


DimeNoc.com
Abuse Department
Bigjohn,
Thanks - I will open a ticket.

Last edited by zmahshie; September 1st, 2004 at 12:26 PM..
zmahshie is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2004, 12:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
minor deity
Super #1
 
Bigjohn's Avatar
 
Joined in Apr 2004
Lives in Georgia
Hosted on XEON
7,395 posts
Gave thanks: 28
Thanked 94 times
Thanks. Others on that server will appreciate your effort.

John
__________________
Proud to be a Surmunity Mod!
XEON PASS60 PASS61
Make a fundamental difference!
My Sites:
Curious about Brewing Beer? Join the community!
>>>>> Some Change is GOOD! Keep your paycheck! Support the Fair Tax
Get into an Art museum
Victorian London
It's your brain -ON WEB - mybrainhost.com (under development)
What SHOULD Government do? Much Less than it Does!
Bigjohn is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2004, 11:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in Dec 2003
3 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
I continue to have this problem with AOL and other companies. I've submitted several tickets, but have not received any response in several months. When will this be resolved?
deitchn is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2005, 2:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
Comfy Contributor
 
azzor's Avatar
 
Joined in Jan 2004
Lives in Hermosillo, Mexico
Hosted on D31 Reseller
100 posts
Gave thanks: 12
Thanked 0 times
argh, me too

theriver.com
gmail.com
__________________
Shared on Sh120 72.29.90.63
Reseller on D31
Dedicated
why D31 is not on the server status page?
azzor is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On