icon Learn how to get the most out of Surmunity - read our forum tips here! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Private Hosting » investigating and i find a discrepancy.Curious what to do

Private Hosting Questions about VPS, dedicated servers and colocation.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2007, 5:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
dad
Registered User
On a golden path...
 
dad's Avatar
 
Joined in Jan 2004
Lives in orillia canada
Hosted on solacehosting
408 posts
Gave thanks: 3
Thanked 16 times
investigating and i find a discrepancy.Curious what to do

i have been having some problems with my server as of late. this week one of my customers accounts got suspended as it was sending enormous amounts of email. i checked today and there was a lot in the mail queue and checking most of them was the same email.. one about money needed to get a share of a frozen account

Anyways.. i did some checking and found this discrepancy. in my "list accounts" all subdomains appear as an account. the site that got suspended and unsuspended has one that isnt there. However if i check "list subdomains" there is one there and when i click on it.. it goes to this page. http://www.dimenoc.com/antiphish/?

i check with the customer and they have no idea about that account... and i frankly dont know how it got there. i realize that i should just delete it but how do i prevent subdomains automatically from being created? i cant find a creation date.

(anyone seen my colo around there yet? i dont have a tracking # as i ordered it from the american side of tigerdirect and it wont integrate Canadian customers and American orders, it was shipped out on Dec 5)
__________________
"colocation" is a nice way to say im codependant on surpass
www.solacehosting.com
www.christopherforlife.com
dad is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2007, 5:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Surpass Staff
Excelling Contributor
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Joined in Jun 2005
Lives in surpass headquarters
929 posts
Gave thanks: 55
Thanked 90 times
We redirect to dimenoc.com/antiphish when we receieve a report of a phishing site on our network. Chances are the account or subdomain has insecure software and permissions and was exploited.
Please check in with our abuse and security team and report these problems and we will take care of them for you.
__________________
Surpass Special Operations
Mike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2007, 5:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Surpass Abuse Admin
Super #1
 
removed's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2005
Lives in Houston, TX
7,574 posts
Gave thanks: 10
Thanked 263 times
I took action against the spammer and the phishing site you are talking about. The directory in question was created because of some insecure permissions on your customer's account. Our standard procedure is to secure the account and redirect the phishing site to http://www.dimenoc.com/antiphish/ in an attempt to educate visitors about the evils of phishing.

As for your server, please get in touch with TigerDirect and have them send you a tracking number. We'll keep an eye on it as soon as you send me the tracking number.
__________________
Surpass Abuse & Security

unofficial IRC chat: #surpass irc.blessed.net (efnet)
removed is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2007, 6:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
dad
Registered User
On a golden path...
 
dad's Avatar
 
Joined in Jan 2004
Lives in orillia canada
Hosted on solacehosting
408 posts
Gave thanks: 3
Thanked 16 times
i thought that the issue had been fixed the other day as i saw the suspension was unsuspended by the time i got the notice. i thought that the/designer shoutbox had been the issue. ill leave that subdomain open until i hear back from abuse/security with the ticket i submitted.

(removed.. i got a tracking number no shipping number... ill phone and see if i can get the Canadian customer doesnt get a shipping number persecution thing fixed)
__________________
"colocation" is a nice way to say im codependant on surpass
www.solacehosting.com
www.christopherforlife.com
dad is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On