icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Shared Hosting » Unsolicited Email

Shared Hosting Questions about your shared hosting account.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 6th, 2006, 1:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in May 2005
Hosted on sh91
23 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Angry Unsolicited Email

In the last couple of days I've gotten failure notices for email I've sent to my gmail account:
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

<recipient removed>gmail.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after end of data:
host gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com [72.14.205.27]:
550-5.7.1 Our system has detected an unusual amount of unsolicited
550-5.7.1 mail originating from your IP address. To protect our
550-5.7.1 users from spam, mail sent from your IP address has been
550-5.7.1 rejected. Please visit
550-5.7.1 http://www.google.com/mail/help/bulk_mail.html to review
550 5.7.1 our Bulk Email Senders Guidelines. e18si2266575qba
From what I understand, all sites hosted on a shared server (like mine) share the same IP address, is that correct? If so, my email is being rejected because of someone else on the same server sending unsolicited emails?



How do I...

...report this to Surpass?
...get this fixed so my emails get throuhg?

Thanks,
__________________
DeShawn Smith
http://www.deshawnsmith.com
on server SH91
de_boer_man is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 3:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Skittles
Super #1
 
DewKnight's Avatar
 
Joined in Aug 2004
Lives in a space ship
Hosted on dedi
6,810 posts
Gave thanks: 101
Thanked 198 times
To have support remove the IP from blacklists, and try to find out who is getting it blocked, file a ticket to support with your server IP, and a description of the problem.

In Gmail, I would suggest seeing if they have a whitelist option, or adding the address you want to receive from to your contacts, it may help.
__________________
Mountain Dew Knight
People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.
DewKnight is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2006, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in May 2005
Hosted on sh91
23 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Sadly, if I continue with shared hosting, this is bound to be only the first time this happens, not the last.

That means that it's time to look for a VPS. Surpass' VPS prices are a bit high, so shortly I'll be leaving Surpass for another server where I'll have my own IP address.

Surpass has been a good shared host. All things considered, I really can't complain.

Farewell...
__________________
DeShawn Smith
http://www.deshawnsmith.com
on server SH91
de_boer_man is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2006, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
01101100
Super #1
 
markscns's Avatar
 
Joined in Jan 2006
Lives in West Michigan
Hosted on SH92
1,606 posts
Gave thanks: 49
Thanked 114 times
You can always get your own dedicated IP address even on a Shared Account:

https://desk.surpasshosting.com/inde...barticleid=133

Dedicated server customers: $2.00 /month per ip

Reseller account customers: $3.00 /month per ip

Shared account customers: $4.00 /month per ip

I would not fret about using a Shared IP, all it takes is for support to determine why the IP was blacklisted, and if it was due to a Spammer, they just need to submit a request to the Blacklist service that they have removed the Spammer and can be removed from the list.
__________________
twinlakeweather.us SH92
markscns is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On