icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Shared Hosting » Billing Emails

Shared Hosting Questions about your shared hosting account.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30th, 2007, 8:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
nbwtorg's Avatar
 
Joined in Aug 2004
20 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Billing Emails

I have been receiving emails about major changes to the Surpass billing system, doing audits, and wanting me to enter credit card information. They also claim that PayPal is no longer available (which I do not use).

Is this legitimate? It seems really strange to me since NONE of the links come back to SurpassHosting.com with any information.

I also don't see anything in any of the threads here.

Anyone know anything about this?

Thanks.

www.nbwt.org
nbwtorg is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 9:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Skittles
Super #1
 
DewKnight's Avatar
 
Joined in Aug 2004
Lives in a space ship
Hosted on dedi
6,810 posts
Gave thanks: 101
Thanked 198 times
I doubt they are legit. I would file a ticket at the help desk with the emails (including the headers). Support will let you know if they are legit, and if they aren't, maybe they can do something about it
__________________
Mountain Dew Knight
People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.
DewKnight is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Surpass Abuse Admin
Super #1
 
removed's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2005
Lives in Houston, TX
Hosted on NONE
7,797 posts
Gave thanks: 11
Thanked 278 times
That doesn't sound right at all. Can you forward the message to me, as well as complete headers?

Please send it to rem at surpasshosting dot com
__________________
Unofficial IRC Channel: #surpass EFNet
Unofficial = No official support. Support requests can be submitted to our helpdesk.
removed is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Marketing Maven
Surpass Staff
 
Kayla's Avatar
 
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Orlando
24,749 posts
Gave thanks: 946
Thanked 806 times
Actually they are legit.. if you are a customer from '04 they have likely reached your account now in the audits and are trying to move you to our new billing system.

I thought they were providing a page of information on the site though - that is something that would make it not seem so suspicious. I will see what is going on.

In the meantime you can definitely reply to the emails, they are legit. Sorry for the confusion.

__________________
Follow Surpass on Twitter and Facebook
Check out the Surpass Blog



Kayla is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
This user thanks Kayla for this great post!
shakh (October 22nd, 2007)
Old October 1st, 2007, 1:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Comfy Contributor
 
shakh's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2005
Lives in Niagara, Canada
Hosted on just.shak.ws
181 posts
Gave thanks: 59
Thanked 7 times
What's changed between the old billing system and the new one?

D
shakh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On