icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » Shared Hosting » Google says my site's IP has trojans?

Shared Hosting Questions about your shared hosting account.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2008, 2:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in Jun 2004
9 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Google says my site's IP has trojans?

Google is saying my blog: EatSkeet.com has some sort of Trojan somewhere. I've looked all over and I don't see anything potentially harmful.

Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for eatskeet.com/

is it another site on my shared hosting?
tmac2104 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 2:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Twist3d One
Super #1
 
Twist3d's Avatar
 
Joined in Dec 2007
Hosted on pass81
1,470 posts
Gave thanks: 23
Thanked 34 times
well the server itself wouldn't have a trojan or a virus because the server is running off linux and linux doesn't get infected with viruses or trojans.

That doesn't mean however there isn't a trojan sitting on the server somewhere that is ready to spread to a windows pc.
__________________
Pass81

Twist3d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 2:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
php, wha?!
Comfy Contributor
 
Gamer.Saga's Avatar
 
Joined in Feb 2008
163 posts
Gave thanks: 4
Thanked 5 times
Maybe some of these domains are also your's?

Quote:
Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 6228 domain(s), including emreguzer.com, gissit.co.uk, midstorm.org.
Source: Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for 61.155.8.0/

It says the harmful information is found on the domain "61.155.8.0".

Contact google and find out why you're flagged as harmful or w/e.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Twist3d View Post
well the server itself wouldn't have a trojan or a virus because the server is running off linux and linux doesn't get infected with viruses or trojans.

That doesn't mean however there isn't a trojan sitting on the server somewhere that is ready to spread to a windows pc.
That's a lie. People make harmful things for linux, like trojans. Linux users are just experienced computer users that aren't dumb enough to download harmful software.
__________________
HD.C | MyTwitter
I am addicted to LINUX.

Last edited by Gamer.Saga; July 15th, 2008 at 3:01 PM..
Gamer.Saga is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 3:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
php, wha?!
Comfy Contributor
 
Gamer.Saga's Avatar
 
Joined in Feb 2008
163 posts
Gave thanks: 4
Thanked 5 times
GAH! Delete this, someone... I have no idea how I ended up double posting <_<....
__________________
HD.C | MyTwitter
I am addicted to LINUX.

Last edited by Gamer.Saga; July 15th, 2008 at 3:01 PM..
Gamer.Saga is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 3:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Marketing Maven
Surpass Staff
 
Kayla's Avatar
 
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Orlando
24,749 posts
Gave thanks: 946
Thanked 806 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac2104 View Post
Google is saying my blog: EatSkeet.com has some sort of Trojan somewhere. I've looked all over and I don't see anything potentially harmful.

Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for eatskeet.com/

is it another site on my shared hosting?
Your WordPress is upgraded to the newest version, right?

There are ways that "wordpress hackers" can actually gain access to your admin and add pages or code into existing pages. I've witnessed this happening a lot. The changes they make are not seen by visitors but by bots.

Glancing over your source I do not see anything there. But if you upgraded recently then the site could have been reported the last time it was scanned and had malicious content inside. Please double check everything - this isn't a serverwide issue.
__________________
Follow Surpass on Twitter and Facebook
Check out the Surpass Blog



Kayla is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 3:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Skittles
Super #1
 
DewKnight's Avatar
 
Joined in Aug 2004
Lives in a space ship
Hosted on dedi
6,806 posts
Gave thanks: 101
Thanked 197 times
If it was infected with the latest exploit that people have been using, upgrading may still leave the infection on the site. Deleting and re-uploading everything fixes that problem (but only do this if you know what you're doing. And make a backup. Wouldn't want you to lose anything on your site)
__________________
Mountain Dew Knight
People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.
DewKnight is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 4:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Twist3d One
Super #1
 
Twist3d's Avatar
 
Joined in Dec 2007
Hosted on pass81
1,470 posts
Gave thanks: 23
Thanked 34 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamer.Saga View Post
That's a lie. People make harmful things for linux, like trojans. Linux users are just experienced computer users that aren't dumb enough to download harmful software.
What i was getting at is somebody with a windows based pc is unlikely to accidently upload a windows virus or trojan on the webserver that would infect or harm linux.
__________________
Pass81

Twist3d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 5:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Race Surpass
Super #1
 
MarkRH's Avatar
 
Joined in Jul 2006
Lives in Oklahoma City, OK
Hosted on sh102
1,222 posts
Gave thanks: 18
Thanked 86 times
How funny... I just went to Welcome to Monster® to lookup some specs on Home Theater power conditioners and was blocked by Firefox and Google also shows a warning for them.
MarkRH is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 5:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Skittles
Super #1
 
DewKnight's Avatar
 
Joined in Aug 2004
Lives in a space ship
Hosted on dedi
6,806 posts
Gave thanks: 101
Thanked 197 times
hahaha that's awesome! Down with monster cables!
__________________
Mountain Dew Knight
People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.
DewKnight is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On