+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Bookmark and Share

  1. #1
    Registered User Fresh Surpasser
    Points: 2,877, Level: 15
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 173
    Overall activity: 30.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Member since
    Apr 2008
    posts
    2
    Points
    2,877
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 times

    Question about DNS and NS1.domainame.com

    Hello

    I'm looking to make my big move over to Surpass and was curious about how the DNS stuff works.

    Currently I host my stuff on my own but I don't want to be burdened with updating my server and installing the most current stuff, and don't have time for it.

    I'm just wondering, when I transfer my main domain over (along with our clients that we take care of), how does the nameserver stuff work here?

    Can I still use my ns1.domainname.com (with all my subdomains)? Is that all the same here?

    Sorry, if this is a silly question I just don't want it all to fall apart when I shut down my webserver/DNS.

    Thanks
    -figs

  2. #2
    Photographer Super #1
    Points: 13,980, Level: 35
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 69.0%
    Achievements:
    Friendy!Created Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class
    Twist3d's Avatar
    Member since
    Dec 2007
    Location
    IA
    posts
    2,179
    Points
    13,980
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 79 times
    Quote Originally Posted by FIGS View Post
    Hello

    I'm looking to make my big move over to Surpass and was curious about how the DNS stuff works.

    Currently I host my stuff on my own but I don't want to be burdened with updating my server and installing the most current stuff, and don't have time for it.

    I'm just wondering, when I transfer my main domain over (along with our clients that we take care of), how does the nameserver stuff work here?

    Can I still use my ns1.domainname.com (with all my subdomains)? Is that all the same here?

    Sorry, if this is a silly question I just don't want it all to fall apart when I shut down my webserver/DNS.

    Thanks
    -figs
    If you have a Reseller, VPS or dedicated then they will give you free custom nameservers like you are talking about above.

    I'm not sure if they offer custom nameservers for normal shared hosting plans.

  3. #3
    Registered User Fresh Surpasser
    Points: 2,877, Level: 15
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 173
    Overall activity: 30.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Member since
    Apr 2008
    posts
    2
    Points
    2,877
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 times
    Aw, unfortunately it's not in our budget to spend that much I guess we'll have to do without.

  4. #4
    Photographer Super #1
    Points: 13,980, Level: 35
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 69.0%
    Achievements:
    Friendy!Created Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class
    Twist3d's Avatar
    Member since
    Dec 2007
    Location
    IA
    posts
    2,179
    Points
    13,980
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 79 times
    Best way to find out for sure is to contact them via chat and ask them.

  5. #5
    Photographer Super #1
    Points: 13,980, Level: 35
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 69.0%
    Achievements:
    Friendy!Created Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class
    Twist3d's Avatar
    Member since
    Dec 2007
    Location
    IA
    posts
    2,179
    Points
    13,980
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 79 times
    Link to the chat is https://chat.surpasshosting.com

  6. This user thanks Twist3d for this great post!

    FIGS (March 6th, 2012)

  7. #6
    Marketing Manager Fresh Surpasser
    Points: 537, Level: 5
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Member since
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    posts
    10
    Points
    537
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 times
    Hi FIGS!

    I hope your transition to Surpass is going smoothly Just wanted to give my 2 cents here. You can use custom nameservers on any hosting account with us, including shared.

    Once all your data is moved to the Surpass server and confirmed as working, simply update the IP addresses that your custom nameservers point to. The IP addresses you should use will be listed in the Welcome Email you receive after signing up for an account. The actual change is done at the registrar level (where you registered your domain name).

    The changes can take up to 24 hours to take effect, however, so be sure your ready to update the nameservers before making any changes!
    Brandon D.
    SurpassHosting.com

  8. This user thanks Brandon D. for this great post!

    Twist3d (March 13th, 2012)

  9. #7
    Photographer Super #1
    Points: 13,980, Level: 35
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 69.0%
    Achievements:
    Friendy!Created Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class
    Twist3d's Avatar
    Member since
    Dec 2007
    Location
    IA
    posts
    2,179
    Points
    13,980
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 79 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Brandon D. View Post
    You can use custom nameservers on any hosting account with us, including shared.
    Good to know..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts