icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Choosing Surpass » Signed Up? » blacklisted

Signed Up? If you're new with a question, ask here!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 9th, 2004, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in Apr 2004
12 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
blacklisted

I'm a reseller on pass6 and my emails are being blacklisted. Here's a short exerpt from the bounced email:

"Mail from 66.194.239.136 refused by blackhole site rbl-plus.mail-abuse.org. Check http://mail-abuse.org/referred.html for explanation"

I've created a help ticket about it, but apparently that does nothing. Is there anything to do about this besides moving to a different hosting company?

Also, on a related issue...when doing a whois on the IP address of my server I found out that the IP is registered with HostDime. What's that all about? Am I actually on a HostDime server and don't even know it. Is Surpass just a reseller for HostDime servers?
davo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
sam
Surpass Fan
Super #1
 
sam's Avatar
 
Joined in Dec 2003
Lives in NJ
5,057 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 4 times
getting those lists updated involves third parties and takes time. thanks for your patience.

as for your second question, there isn't much that can be done about that. ulitimately the whois records must show who owns the network.
sam is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 12:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Surpass Fan
Comfy Contributor
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Joined in Mar 2004
Lives in New York
Hosted on SH98
149 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by davo
Also, on a related issue...when doing a whois on the IP address of my server I found out that the IP is registered with HostDime. What's that all about? Am I actually on a HostDime server and don't even know it. Is Surpass just a reseller for HostDime servers?
As the thread, http://www.surmunity.com/showthread....9546#post49546 states:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayla
Surpass Hosting is a wholly owned subsidiary company of DimeNoc.
This simply means that Surpass Hosting is a sister company of DimeNoc/HostDime. So, technically, they are the same company. Rest assured, Surpass Hosting/DimeNoc has its own data centers, unlike most hosting companies which rent racks from third party vendors.

With any hosting company you go to, the WHOIS will always show the hosting company you are currently signed with. Even if you use your own customized nameservers (i.e. ns1.mydomain.com), the IP address to those nameservers will still always link up to your host or to the rack vendor that your host uses.

I hope this helps. Have a good day!
__________________
Website: Steve.SC
Server: SH98
Steve is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 1:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Fresh Surpasser
 
Joined in Apr 2004
12 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
Glad to know this is being handled...have the resellers/account holders causing the problem been booted? If the spam continues they won't remove the ban.
davo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 6:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Surpass Fan
Seasoned Poster
 
bumblevee's Avatar
 
Joined in May 2004
Lives in Canada
Hosted on pass7
90 posts
Gave thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times
I'm in the same boat as you, Davo. I contacted tech support yesterday and was told they had to pass it on to hostdime abuse team. I'm getting tired of checking my mail thru horde. I guess both pass6 and pass7 are affected.
__________________
Server: Pass 7

"Light travels faster than sound, this is why many people appear bright until they open their mouths."
:surpass:
bumblevee is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On