| Site Maintenance Program updates, securing your website, creating backups. |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Marketing Maven
Surpass Staff
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Orlando
24,749 posts
Gave thanks: 946
Thanked 806 times
|
Actually - I'm wrong. TopSites was never in Fantastico.. it was PHPlinks (which is no longer there by the way.)
It just seems these links programs are bad news.. ![]()
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) | |
|
Surpass Fan
Excelling Contributor
Joined in Dec 2005
Lives in my computer
Hosted on pass86'd
660 posts
Gave thanks: 56
Thanked 14 times
|
Quote:
I would like to know if you can confirm if this has been fixed and what this report is stating is no longer a problem, or has it been ignored. This is what I am looking for is an answer to if the script I am using is still able to be hacked. and I Am willing to change to any script recommended by Kayla, et el as being much better. MJ |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | ||
|
Marketing Maven
Surpass Staff
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Orlando
24,749 posts
Gave thanks: 946
Thanked 806 times
|
Quote:
![]() When I check respectable sites like Secunia, it reports the vulnerability is unpatched. Yet I just went to the Aardvark website and they released a new version on June 9 - they call it the anti-spam release. You're right! So now I am a bit confused. Since they are still active with development (which I didn't know just going by what Secunia reported) go ahead and keep using it or install it.. version 5.2. http://www.aardvarktopsitesphp.com/f...pic.php?t=7079 We will keep zapping out the old versions.. ![]() Here's something else that was posted on that thread, so glad I read it now! http://www.jimwestergren.com/stop-the-topsites-spam Quote:
![]()
__________________
|
||
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
Marketing Maven
Surpass Staff
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Orlando
24,749 posts
Gave thanks: 946
Thanked 806 times
|
So.. I am still not sure exactly if the vulnerability on Secunia is patched.. but it does seem Aardvark is more responsible than I thought, even so! My apologies to them.
![]()
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
|
Marketing Maven
Surpass Staff
Joined in May 2003
Lives in Orlando
24,749 posts
Gave thanks: 946
Thanked 806 times
|
Is it the same script? I am not sure on what all the TopSites script does.
At the end of the day any similar script can be abused in some way.. just seems the certain way the Aardvark script advertised buttons was a target. But any other script can become the hot target tomorrow.
__________________
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|