icon Get the most out of Surmunity, read our tips here! Need an interesting blog to read? You've got to read the Surpass Blog! | Welcome! Please register to access all of our features.

» Surpass Web Hosting Forums » Discussions » All Things Techy » Site Maintenance » What is this?? (Possible Spyware?)

Site Maintenance Program updates, securing your website, creating backups.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2008, 8:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in Mar 2008
Lives in Jax ~ FL
Hosted on Pass82
62 posts
Gave thanks: 5
Thanked 2 times
What is this?? (Possible Spyware?)

I recently wrote a post on my blog about my recent adware, spy ware issues and how I got rid of them. I “advertised” the spy ware, MyWebSearch, and then the 2 programs I used to get rid of it Ad-Aware 2007 and HijackThis. Basically I was just asking what people used to protect their computer.

Anyway I get a “pingback” less than an hour after I posted it from some site listed as Spyware Removal - Information about Spyware Removal

It didn’t leave a comment or anything it just left this link. I wanted to google it to see just exactly what it was before I went to it but I clicked the wrong button and went to the site. It’s this blog thing and it copies other peoples blogs and posts them on their website. I noticed Ad-Aware 2007 in some of the writings so I’m assuming they found me because I have the names in my blog.

The actual link they left on mine was http://spywareremoval.freefromspyware.info/2008/04/09/i%e2%80%99m-freakin-out/

What is this? Do I need to be concerned about what’s on my computer/site now? I haven’t noticed anything odd but I’m also not very technical and wouldn’t know what I’m looking for.
Before I made the post I uninstalled Ad-Aware and HiJackThis (which I know they don’t sound right but they got rid of my original problem)
I’ve also deleted the comment.

What’s going on???

EDIT : WTF?? I can't even list the link now without it changing by itself????

Last edited by LCBacia; April 9th, 2008 at 8:02 PM.
LCBacia is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 9:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Twist3d One
Super #1
 
Twist3d's Avatar
 
Joined in Dec 2007
Hosted on pass81
1,371 posts
Gave thanks: 20
Thanked 31 times
Ugh. MyWebSearch is some nasty spyware and hard to remove.
__________________
Pass81

Twist3d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2008, 11:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
minor deity
Super #1
 
Bigjohn's Avatar
 
Joined in Apr 2004
Lives in Georgia
Hosted on XEON
7,363 posts
Gave thanks: 25
Thanked 94 times
That link is just someone who seems to link back to sites with certain keywords... did you see all the google ads on his page? Page-rank / link miner...

Now, as to your spyware....

On a different PC, download spybot SD and it's latest definintions. Burn to a CD.
Download Adaware 2007 and it's latest definitions, burn to Cd.

Boot your computer to safe mode.
Disable System Restore points (in vista or XP)
Run Spybot SD from the CD.
Remove everything it detects.

Then run Adaware. Same procedure - remove everything it finds.

Reboot to "safemode with networking"
open a command prompt
type mrt
run the microsoft removal tool

load IE.
go to Safety.live.com, run the full free scan.

Reboot to normal mode.
open IE
Go to housecall.trendmicro.com
run the full scan.

If that passes clean, you've probably got it.
__________________
Proud to be a Surmunity Mod!
XEON PASS60 PASS61
Make a fundamental difference!
My Sites:
Curious about Brewing Beer? Join the community!
>>>>> Some Change is GOOD! Keep your paycheck! Support the Fair Tax
Get into an Art museum
Victorian London
It's your brain -ON WEB - mybrainhost.com (under development)
What SHOULD Government do? Much Less than it Does!
Bigjohn is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
This user thanks Bigjohn for this great post!
LCBacia (April 11th, 2008)
Old April 11th, 2008, 1:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Seasoned Poster
 
Joined in Mar 2008
Lives in Jax ~ FL
Hosted on Pass82
62 posts
Gave thanks: 5
Thanked 2 times
Thank you!
I'll try all that this weekend!!
LCBacia is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On